One more giveaway–win The Sound of Life and Everything by Krista Van Dolzer!

I’m excited for May 5 because that’s when The Stars of Summer publishes, but I’m even MORE excited to be sharing a book birthday with a debut novel I have loved for a long time: The Sound of Life and Everything by Krista Van Dolzer.

Krista and I have been fans of each others’ writing for a while now. In 2011, I entered the project I was working on in her “An Agent’s Inbox” series on her blog; it didn’t win a bid from the judging agent, but I’ll always be happy I entered, because that’s how I connected with Krista. Soon after that, she let me beta-read her middle-grade work in progress, which I adored, and we both ended up selling our books to Shauna Rossano at Putnam. And now we have books publishing from the same imprint, with the same editor, on the same day. What could be better??

To celebrate, I’m giving away an advance copy of this terrific book, which is also a Junior Library Guild selection. Here’s the description:

The Sound of Life and Everything by Krista Van Dolzer A fascinating speculative historical fiction debut set in 1950s California—perfect for fans of When You Reach Me.

Twelve-year-old Ella Mae Higbee is a sensible girl. She eats her vegetables and wants to be just like Sergeant Friday, her favorite character on Dragnet. So when her auntie Mildred starts spouting nonsense about a scientist who can bring her cousin back to life from blood on his dog tags, Ella Mae is skeptical—until he steps out of a bio-pod right before her eyes.

But the boy is not her cousin—he’s Japanese. And in California in the wake of World War II, the Japanese are still feared and despised. When her aunt refuses to take responsibility, Ella Mae and her Mama take him home instead. Determined to do what’s right by her new friend, Ella Mae teaches Takuma English and defends him from the reverend’s talk of H-E-double-toothpicks. But when his memories start to resurface, Ella Mae learns some shocking truths about her own family and more importantly, what it means to love.

(Doesn’t that sound fantastic? It is!)

Krista’s website (with preorder links)

GIVEAWAY ALERT! You can enter to win an ARC of The Sound of Life and Everything by leaving a comment on this post. You can also earn up to two extra entries by posting about this giveaway on Twitter and/or Facebook. (Please mention or link your follows and extra posts in your comment to get credit for them.)

Sample Tweet:
Win an ARC of ‘s fantastically original debut, THE SOUND OF LIFE AND EVERYTHING!  #giveaway

Sample FB status:
Win an ARC of Krista Van Dolzer‘s fantastically original debut (and Junior Library Guild selection) THE SOUND OF LIFE AND EVERYTHING!  #giveaway

I‘ll announce a winner at 9 am Mountain Time next Tuesday, 5/28. Good luck!

And the winner is…

Thanks so much to everyone who entered my giveaway for signed copies of All Four Stars and The Stars of SummerThe randomly selected winner is…

**** Diane Collier ****

Congrats, Diane, and happy reading!

The Sound of Life and Everything by Krista Van DolzerBut hark, that was not your last chance to win a book on this blog this week! Come back tomorrow to enter my giveaway of an arc of The Sound of Life and Everythingthe incredible middle-grade debut by Krista Van Dolzer that comes out on May 5!

Crystal Kite finalist – and giveaway!

Crystal-Kite-logo1-1024x393I got some great news this past weekend: All Four Stars is a finalist for an SCBWI Crystal Kite Award! This award is granted by fellow writers and illustrators in each of the 15 regions of SCBWI (the Society for Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators). We had amazing group of nominees in the southwest region, and I couldn’t be more honored that All Four Stars has made the final four.

These could be yours!! :)

These could be yours!! :)

To celebrate, I am giving away a brand-spanking-new, SIGNED paperback of All Four Stars (which comes with two bonus recipes and a teaser chapter from The Stars of Summer!) AND my very last advance reader copy of The Stars of Summerjust in case you can’t wait until May 5 to dive into Gladys’s continuing adventures.

To enter, simply leave a comment on this blog post. I’ll randomly select a winner this Wednesday, 4/22, at 9 am Mountain Time so that hopefully I can get the books in the mail to the winner by the end of the week. This giveaway is open to US and Canadian mailing addresses.

ALL FOUR STARS is out in paperback today!

All Four Stars by Tara Dairman CoverHip, hip, hooray!

Happy April 7–otherwise known as the paperback release date for my first novel, All Four StarsI’m incredibly excited about this for several reasons.

1) More affordable price point. Hardcovers are gorgeous and durable, but can be too expensive for some families to afford. When I was growing up, my appetite for books was insatiable, and parents only ever bought me paperbacks. So the feel of a paperback in my hand is really the quintessential reading experience for me. I’m excited that the lower price point of a paperback will help All Four Stars make the leap into more young readers’ hands

2) Bonus content. The paperback of All Four Stars contains recipes for two dishes mentioned in the book! Of course, I’ve had recipes from the book available here on my website since the book was first released, but it’ll be extra nice for young readers to see them right there in the pages. Who knows how many budding chefs they might inspire? :)

I am Puffin, hear me roar!!

I am Puffin, hear me roar!!

3) That Puffin logo! Thinking back again to all those paperbacks I read as a kid, the Puffin logo was a stamp of the highest quality, since it graced the covers of my Judy Blume and Roald Dahl volumes. Of course, I had no idea about publishers and imprints back then–but now I know that Puffin publishes the paperback editions for Penguin Young Readers books. Which means that it appears on the All Four Stars paperback! I seriously could not be more delighted about that.

So, many thanks to Puffin editor Jennifer Bonnell for making the transition from hardcover to paperback so smooth, and many thanks to all of you readers, without whom Penguin would not have decided to release a paperback at all (not every book gets one) and continue the All Four Stars series.

If you spot an AFS paperback in the wild, feel free to snap a pic and tweet or send it to me–I’d love to see it out there!

Twitter giveaway–today only!

Hello, folks! Today only, on Twitter, I’m giving away a hardcover copy of All Four Stars AND an arc of The Stars of Summer to one lucky person! All you have to do to enter is retweet the status you’ll find at this link:

https://twitter.com/TaraDairman/status/577438379941347328

Gladys with two books

This is part of the larger #mgMarch project, in which a different middle-grade novel is being given away every day of the month. So follow the hashtag for more giveaways as March continues!

(And if you’re not on Twitter, don’t worry–I’ll be doing another giveaway soon. And even if you don’t win that one, you don’t have too long to wait for The Stars of Summerit’ll be on bookstore and library shelves in less than two months!)

And the winner of UNDER A PAINTED SKY is…

Under a Painted Sky by Stacey LeeMelissa @Novelty Podcast!

Congrats, Melissa!

For those of you who didn’t win, I hope that you’ll consider supporting a debut author by preordering or purchasing a copy of Under a Painted Sky (it publishes one week from today), or by requesting it as a purchase in your local library system (if they don’t have it on order already!).

Thanks to all who entered, and keep an eye on this blog for upcoming giveaways, including as Krista Van Dolzer‘s brilliant debut middle-grade novel, The Sound of Life and Everythingand maybe even one or two more of my own Stars of Summer ARCs!

Giveaway: Under a Painted Sky by Stacey Lee!

Greetings, friends! We haven’t had a giveaway around here in a while, so I’m excited to offer you a chance to win an advance copy of Stacey Lee’s incredible debut YA historical novel, Under a Painted Sky.

Stacey and I share an editor, so I was lucky enough to get my hands on an ARC of her book a couple of months ago. I tore through this tale of adventure and friendship, and was awed by the author’s ability to bring a completely new twist to the Western genre. I couldn’t recommend it more highly. (And neither could Kirkus or Publishers Weekly, which both gave this book starred reviews!)

Under a Painted Sky by Stacey LeeA powerful story of friendship and sacrifice, for fans of Code Name Verity

Missouri, 1849: Samantha dreams of moving back to New York to be a professional musician—not an easy thing if you’re a girl, and harder still if you’re Chinese. But a tragic accident dashes any hopes of fulfilling her dream, and instead, leaves her fearing for her life. With the help of a runaway slave named Annamae, Samantha flees town for the unknown frontier. But life on the Oregon Trail is unsafe for two girls, so they disguise themselves as Sammy and Andy, two boys headed for the California gold rush. Sammy and Andy forge a powerful bond as they each search for a link to their past, and struggle to avoid any unwanted attention. But when they cross paths with a band of cowboys, the light-hearted troupe turn out to be unexpected allies. With the law closing in on them and new setbacks coming each day, the girls quickly learn that there are not many places to hide on the open trail.

This beautifully written debut is an exciting adventure and heart-wrenching survival tale. But above all else, it’s a story about perseverance and trust that will restore your faith in the power of friendship.

Stacey’s website (with preorder links)

GIVEAWAY ALERT! You can enter to win an ARC of Under a Painted Sky by leaving a comment on this post. You can also earn up to two extra entries by posting about this giveaway on Twitter and/or Facebook.(Please mention or link your follows and extra posts in your comment to get credit for them.)

Sample Tweet:
Win an ARC of ‘s riveting, multi-starred UNDER A PAINTED SKY at s blog!

Sample FB status:
Win a copy of Stacey Lee’s riveting, multi-starred debut novel, UNDER A PAINTED SKY, Tara Dairman’s blog!

I‘ll announce a winner next Tuesday, 3/10. Good luck!