Blog tour, stop 4

SUMMER blog button3Today’s entry in The Stars of Summer‘s blog tour comes courtesy of Bonnie at For the Love of Words. She’s written a lovely review of the book, and I’m so glad she enjoyed Gladys’s quest for unusual and international hot dogs. Thank you, Bonnie!!



Blog tour, day 3!

SUMMER blog button3Greetings, friends! The Stars of Summer‘s blog tour continues!

Today, Sylvia at A Baked Creation has cooked up a true treat of a post. It’s a little bit book review, a little bit funky Toronto hot dog joint crawl (I want that po’boy hot dog!), and a little bit of childhood memories of favorite hot dogs eaten with family. I just love it. Thank you, Sylvia!

Winner, blog tour posts, and AFS in Czech!

The Sound of Life and Everything by Krista Van DolzerSeveral orders of business today!

First off, the randomly selected winner of an arc of The Sound of Life and Everything by Krista Van Dolzer is…

**** Becky! ****

Congrats, and happy reading!

If you didn’t win, you still don’t have long to wait to read the book, as it comes out a week from today. You can preorder it here, or request it from your local library. Or both! 🙂 Debut authors appreciate your support so much.

SUMMER blog button3Secondly, The Stars of Summer blog tour continues today with TWO entries! Aeicha has written a terrific review of the book over at Word Spelunking, and Emma has an interview with me up at Awkwordly Emma in which I share research techniques and cooking habits. Feel free to check them out!


All Four Stars by Tara Dairman CoverAnd finally, I got some great news yesterday: All Four Stars will be published in Czech, by Albatros! This is the first foreign rights sale for any of my books, and I’m over the moon. More details on Facebook.

Check back tomorrow as the blog tour continues!

THE STARS OF SUMMER blog tour kicks off!

SUMMER blog button3The Stars of Summer is a little over a week away from hitting the shelves, but its blog tour kicks off today! A whole bunch of generous kidlit and food bloggers will be posting reviews, interviews, recipes, and more over the next couple of weeks, and I’ll do my best to round up the links daily here.

First off, a terrific review and hot dog recipe collection from Katie at Bookish Illuminations. Katie is also giving away signed copies of All Four Stars and The Stars of Summer!

Check back tomorrow for the next stop on the tour, and for the winner of my own giveaway of The Sound of Life and Everything by Krista Van Dolzer.

One more giveaway–win The Sound of Life and Everything by Krista Van Dolzer!

I’m excited for May 5 because that’s when The Stars of Summer publishes, but I’m even MORE excited to be sharing a book birthday with a debut novel I have loved for a long time: The Sound of Life and Everything by Krista Van Dolzer.

Krista and I have been fans of each others’ writing for a while now. In 2011, I entered the project I was working on in her “An Agent’s Inbox” series on her blog; it didn’t win a bid from the judging agent, but I’ll always be happy I entered, because that’s how I connected with Krista. Soon after that, she let me beta-read her middle-grade work in progress, which I adored, and we both ended up selling our books to Shauna Rossano at Putnam. And now we have books publishing from the same imprint, with the same editor, on the same day. What could be better??

To celebrate, I’m giving away an advance copy of this terrific book, which is also a Junior Library Guild selection. Here’s the description:

The Sound of Life and Everything by Krista Van Dolzer A fascinating speculative historical fiction debut set in 1950s California—perfect for fans of When You Reach Me.

Twelve-year-old Ella Mae Higbee is a sensible girl. She eats her vegetables and wants to be just like Sergeant Friday, her favorite character on Dragnet. So when her auntie Mildred starts spouting nonsense about a scientist who can bring her cousin back to life from blood on his dog tags, Ella Mae is skeptical—until he steps out of a bio-pod right before her eyes.

But the boy is not her cousin—he’s Japanese. And in California in the wake of World War II, the Japanese are still feared and despised. When her aunt refuses to take responsibility, Ella Mae and her Mama take him home instead. Determined to do what’s right by her new friend, Ella Mae teaches Takuma English and defends him from the reverend’s talk of H-E-double-toothpicks. But when his memories start to resurface, Ella Mae learns some shocking truths about her own family and more importantly, what it means to love.

(Doesn’t that sound fantastic? It is!)

Krista’s website (with preorder links)

GIVEAWAY ALERT! You can enter to win an ARC of The Sound of Life and Everything by leaving a comment on this post. You can also earn up to two extra entries by posting about this giveaway on Twitter and/or Facebook. (Please mention or link your follows and extra posts in your comment to get credit for them.)

Sample Tweet:
Win an ARC of ‘s fantastically original debut, THE SOUND OF LIFE AND EVERYTHING!  #giveaway

Sample FB status:
Win an ARC of Krista Van Dolzer‘s fantastically original debut (and Junior Library Guild selection) THE SOUND OF LIFE AND EVERYTHING!  #giveaway

I‘ll announce a winner at 9 am Mountain Time next Tuesday, 5/28. Good luck!

And the winner is…

Thanks so much to everyone who entered my giveaway for signed copies of All Four Stars and The Stars of SummerThe randomly selected winner is…

**** Diane Collier ****

Congrats, Diane, and happy reading!

The Sound of Life and Everything by Krista Van DolzerBut hark, that was not your last chance to win a book on this blog this week! Come back tomorrow to enter my giveaway of an arc of The Sound of Life and Everythingthe incredible middle-grade debut by Krista Van Dolzer that comes out on May 5!

Crystal Kite finalist – and giveaway!

Crystal-Kite-logo1-1024x393I got some great news this past weekend: All Four Stars is a finalist for an SCBWI Crystal Kite Award! This award is granted by fellow writers and illustrators in each of the 15 regions of SCBWI (the Society for Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators). We had amazing group of nominees in the southwest region, and I couldn’t be more honored that All Four Stars has made the final four.

These could be yours!! :)

These could be yours!! 🙂

To celebrate, I am giving away a brand-spanking-new, SIGNED paperback of All Four Stars (which comes with two bonus recipes and a teaser chapter from The Stars of Summer!) AND my very last advance reader copy of The Stars of Summerjust in case you can’t wait until May 5 to dive into Gladys’s continuing adventures.

To enter, simply leave a comment on this blog post. I’ll randomly select a winner this Wednesday, 4/22, at 9 am Mountain Time so that hopefully I can get the books in the mail to the winner by the end of the week. This giveaway is open to US and Canadian mailing addresses.