Blog tour wraps up, live tour kicks off!

SUMMER blog button3Well, friends, The Stars of Summer blog tour draws to a close today, but what a fantastic final set of posts Gladys and I have had from bloggers over the last few days! We had this incredible in-depth review from Jen at Pop! Goes the Reader, this delicious Q&A with Stephanie at Kitchen Frolic, an interview AND review from Brenda at Log Cabin Library, and finally, today, a review and brief Q&A with Michael at Project Mayhem. Thank you so much, everyone for helping welcome The Stars of Summer into the world!

As the virtual tour ends, though, the live tour kicks off! I am now on the east coast, and gearing up for two New York events this week: first, my NYC launch party at Books of Wonder this Thursday at 6pm, then my reading and signing at The Dance Loft in Long Beach this Sunday at 4pm. In the weeks after that, I’ll also be appearing at Wellesley Books in Massachusetts (Boston area), One More Page in Arlington, VA (DC area), Kids Author Carnival in NYC, and The Voracious Reader in Larchmont, NY. Please check my events page for my full schedule, and I’d love to see you at one of these panels or parties!

New blog tour posts, and first launch party!

SUMMER blog button3The blog tour for The Stars of Summer continues! Yesterday, the fantastic YA author Dahlia Adler–who is also a friend and a big fellow foodie–helped welcome my new book to the world with macaron pics and hot dog condiment chat at The Daily Dahlia. YUM.

And today, at For What It’s Worth, book blogger Karen has a review of the book and shares a recipe for brats with a slaw that contains blueberries! Wow!

In other news, last night was my first launch party for The Stars of Summer, at my terrific local indie, Boulder Book Store. We served completos Italianos and homemade cookies from the book, gave away prizes in a hot dog trivia contest, and generally just had a blast with all of the terrific friends, writers, kids, and even strangers who came out to celebrate. I’m still basking in the happy glow of being surrounded by so much love and support. Thank you, Boulder!! Here are a few of my favorite pics–full photoset at my Facebook author page.

signing at BBS completo Italiano!the crowdTara reads

 

Release day for THREE great books!

The_Stars_of_Summer_CVR_LIBMy second novel, The Stars of Summerhits the shelves today. It’s crazy to think that, just a year ago, I was the author of zero published books, and now there are two out there in the world with my name on the spine!

I’m incredibly lucky to get to do the work I love doing and actually see my writing find an audience. So to everyone who read and supported All Four Stars over the last year–who told their local librarians about it, who encouraged teachers to bring it into their classrooms, who bought an extra copy as a gift for a young (or not-so-young) foodie in their life–THANK YOU. This series wouldn’t be continuing without your enthusiasm. I hope that you enjoy reading The Stars of Summer every bit as much as I enjoyed writing it (which was a lot), and that maybe I’ll see you at one of my events over the next month.

But today is extra-special to me because it’s not only my second book’s book birthday, but it’s also the release date for two debut books that I love and that are written by dear friends of mine. I really couldn’t think of anyone better to share this day with, and I hope that if you see one of these titles on your local bookstore shelf, you’ll grab it. I promise you won’t be disappointed.

The Sound of Life and Everything by Krista Van Dolzer

The Sound of Life and Everything by Krista Van Dolzer

Stella

Stella Brings the Family by Miriam B. Schiffer

Happy book birthday to all!!

SUMMER blog button3Also, here are links to two more Stars of Summer blog tour posts that are up today: I’ve got an in-depth interview with Louise Galveston and giveaway at From the Mixed-Up Files, and a quickie interview with Leandra Wallace at her blog!

And now, back to preparing hot dog toppings for tomorrow’s Colorado launch party. 🙂

More blog tour (on launch day eve!)

SUMMER blog button3The blog tour for The Stars of Summer is rolling on! First, on Friday, we had this lovely review from Lisa at Fic Talk. I love how she says that this series appeals to adult foodies as well as young readers, because I think so, too! 🙂

And now today Lucy at The Reading Date shares her reactions to the book–and some of her favorite veggie dogs from around LA, should Gladys ever want to come out and visit. The pictures and descriptions have me drooling.

The Stars of Summer hits the shelves TOMORROW, and my first bookstore launch party is the day after that. There are also plenty more blog tour posts coming your way. It’s going to be a busy, but exciting week!

Winner, blog tour posts, and AFS in Czech!

The Sound of Life and Everything by Krista Van DolzerSeveral orders of business today!

First off, the randomly selected winner of an arc of The Sound of Life and Everything by Krista Van Dolzer is…

**** Becky! ****

Congrats, and happy reading!

If you didn’t win, you still don’t have long to wait to read the book, as it comes out a week from today. You can preorder it here, or request it from your local library. Or both! 🙂 Debut authors appreciate your support so much.

SUMMER blog button3Secondly, The Stars of Summer blog tour continues today with TWO entries! Aeicha has written a terrific review of the book over at Word Spelunking, and Emma has an interview with me up at Awkwordly Emma in which I share research techniques and cooking habits. Feel free to check them out!

 

All Four Stars by Tara Dairman CoverAnd finally, I got some great news yesterday: All Four Stars will be published in Czech, by Albatros! This is the first foreign rights sale for any of my books, and I’m over the moon. More details on Facebook.

Check back tomorrow as the blog tour continues!

THE STARS OF SUMMER blog tour kicks off!

SUMMER blog button3The Stars of Summer is a little over a week away from hitting the shelves, but its blog tour kicks off today! A whole bunch of generous kidlit and food bloggers will be posting reviews, interviews, recipes, and more over the next couple of weeks, and I’ll do my best to round up the links daily here.

First off, a terrific review and hot dog recipe collection from Katie at Bookish Illuminations. Katie is also giving away signed copies of All Four Stars and The Stars of Summer!

Check back tomorrow for the next stop on the tour, and for the winner of my own giveaway of The Sound of Life and Everything by Krista Van Dolzer.

One more giveaway–win The Sound of Life and Everything by Krista Van Dolzer!

I’m excited for May 5 because that’s when The Stars of Summer publishes, but I’m even MORE excited to be sharing a book birthday with a debut novel I have loved for a long time: The Sound of Life and Everything by Krista Van Dolzer.

Krista and I have been fans of each others’ writing for a while now. In 2011, I entered the project I was working on in her “An Agent’s Inbox” series on her blog; it didn’t win a bid from the judging agent, but I’ll always be happy I entered, because that’s how I connected with Krista. Soon after that, she let me beta-read her middle-grade work in progress, which I adored, and we both ended up selling our books to Shauna Rossano at Putnam. And now we have books publishing from the same imprint, with the same editor, on the same day. What could be better??

To celebrate, I’m giving away an advance copy of this terrific book, which is also a Junior Library Guild selection. Here’s the description:

The Sound of Life and Everything by Krista Van Dolzer A fascinating speculative historical fiction debut set in 1950s California—perfect for fans of When You Reach Me.

Twelve-year-old Ella Mae Higbee is a sensible girl. She eats her vegetables and wants to be just like Sergeant Friday, her favorite character on Dragnet. So when her auntie Mildred starts spouting nonsense about a scientist who can bring her cousin back to life from blood on his dog tags, Ella Mae is skeptical—until he steps out of a bio-pod right before her eyes.

But the boy is not her cousin—he’s Japanese. And in California in the wake of World War II, the Japanese are still feared and despised. When her aunt refuses to take responsibility, Ella Mae and her Mama take him home instead. Determined to do what’s right by her new friend, Ella Mae teaches Takuma English and defends him from the reverend’s talk of H-E-double-toothpicks. But when his memories start to resurface, Ella Mae learns some shocking truths about her own family and more importantly, what it means to love.

(Doesn’t that sound fantastic? It is!)

Krista’s website (with preorder links)

GIVEAWAY ALERT! You can enter to win an ARC of The Sound of Life and Everything by leaving a comment on this post. You can also earn up to two extra entries by posting about this giveaway on Twitter and/or Facebook. (Please mention or link your follows and extra posts in your comment to get credit for them.)

Sample Tweet:
Win an ARC of ‘s fantastically original debut, THE SOUND OF LIFE AND EVERYTHING!  #giveaway

Sample FB status:
Win an ARC of Krista Van Dolzer‘s fantastically original debut (and Junior Library Guild selection) THE SOUND OF LIFE AND EVERYTHING!  #giveaway

I‘ll announce a winner at 9 am Mountain Time next Tuesday, 5/28. Good luck!

And the winner is…

Thanks so much to everyone who entered my giveaway for signed copies of All Four Stars and The Stars of SummerThe randomly selected winner is…

**** Diane Collier ****

Congrats, Diane, and happy reading!

The Sound of Life and Everything by Krista Van DolzerBut hark, that was not your last chance to win a book on this blog this week! Come back tomorrow to enter my giveaway of an arc of The Sound of Life and Everythingthe incredible middle-grade debut by Krista Van Dolzer that comes out on May 5!